beyond.aco

Referentin: Marina Tabassum

MTA | Marina Tabassum Architects
Bangladesch | Dhaka

Marina Tabassum wurde 1969 in Dhaka, Bangladesch geboren und studierte Architektur an der Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, wo sie ihren Abschluss 1995 mit Auszeichnung absolvierte. Erste Berufserfahrung sammelte sie im Büro von Uttam Kumar Saha, Nandan Architects. In dieser Zeit entwickelte sich ihre Haltung ein nachhaltigeres Konzept der Architektur verfolgen zu wollen. 1995 gründete Tabassum zusammen mit Kashef Chowdhury das Architekturbüro Urbana in Dhaka. 2005 beendete sie die Partnerschaft und gründete ihr eigenes Büro Marina Tabassum Architects.

Als Gastprofessorin lehrte Tabassum unter anderem an der Harvard University Graduate School of Design, an der Universität von Texas, an der BRAC University in Dhaka und an der TU Delft. Seit 2015 leitet sie das Akademische Programm des Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements. Während ihrer Lehrtätigkeit in Harvard entwickelte sie 2017 mit Studierenden und einheimischen Handwerkern Häuser für Bewohner des häufigen Überschwemmungen ausgesetzten Gangesdelta, von denen jedes nur 2.000 Dollar kosten durfte. 2018 war sie Teil der Ausstellung „Freespace“ im Rahmen der Architekturbiennale in Venedig. Die Technische Universität München verlieh ihr 2020 den Ehrendoktortitel für ihren Beitrag in Architekturpraxis, Forschung und Wissenschaft.

Tabassum wurde 2020 vom Prospect Magazine UK unter die "top ten thinkers of the world" gewählt. Sie gewann 2018 den Jameel-Preis und wurde 2016 mit dem renommierten Aga Khan-Preis für Architektur für die Gestaltung der Baitur Rauf Jame-Moschee in Dhaka ausgezeichnet, die mit einem minimalen Budget über einen Zeitraum von zwölf Jahren realisiert und 2012 fertiggestellt wurde.


Wenn Sie Marina Tabassum und ihre Arbeit kennenlernen möchten, melden Sie sich jetzt für beyond.aco an!

Zur Registrierung

Impressionen

beyond.aco

Keynote speaker: Marina Tabassum

MTA | Marina Tabassum Architects
Bangladesh | Dhaka

Marina Tabassum was born in 1969 in Dhaka, Bangladesh and studied architecture at the Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology, where she graduated with distinction in 1995. She gained her first professional experience in the office of Uttam Kumar Saha, Nandan Architects. It was during this time that she developed her attitude of wanting to pursue a more sustainable concept of architecture. In 1995, Tabassum co-founded Urbana Architecture in Dhaka with Kashef Chowdhury where she was partner for 10 years. In 2005, she ended the partnership and founded her own practice, Marina Tabassum Architects.

As a visiting professor, Tabassum has taught at Harvard University Graduate School of Design, the University of Texas, BRAC University in Dhaka and TU Delft. Since 2015, she has headed the Academic Programme of the Bengal Institute for Architecture, Landscapes and Settlements. In 2017, while teaching at Harvard, she worked with students and local artisans to develop houses for residents of the Ganges Delta, which is subject to frequent flooding, each costing just $2,000. In 2018, she was part of the exhibition "Freespace" at the Architketurbiennale in Venice." In 2020 Technical University of Munich conferred her with an Honorary Doctorate for her contribution in architecture practice, research and academics.

Tabassum was listed among the top ten thinkers of the world in 2020 by the Prospect Magazine UK. She won the Jameel Prize in 2018 and was awarded the Aga Khan Award for Architecture in 2016 for designing the Baitur Rauf Jame Mosque in Dhaka, which was realised on a minimal budget over a period of twelve years and completed in 2012.


Visit the website: mtarchitekts.com


If you want to learn more about her work, register now for beyond.aco!

Register now

Project impressions